News for the Paso Robles Wine Region

When established in 1983, the Paso Robles American Viticultural Area (AVA) had fewer than 20 wineries in the region. Since then, there has been a tenfold increase to more than 200 wineries. In order to better reflect the various geologic and climatological growing conditions that influence grape quality, the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) announced the creation of 11 sub-AVAs in San Luis Obispo County, effective Nov. 10.

What does this mean for you, the consumer? Likely, not much. But it’s important to vintners and producers as they try to describe their wines and places of origin more accurately for you. Yes, there will be some natural differences in the wines produced from each these 11 sub-regions. But, if you’ve been happy with specific producers in the greater Paso Robles AVA, your buying habits aren’t likely to change.

Following is a list of the 11 new sub-regions.

1. Adelaida District
2. Creston District
3. El Pomar District
4. Paso Robles Estrella District
5. Paso Robles Geneseo District
6. Paso Robles Highlands District
7. Paso Robles Willow Creek District
8. San Juan Creek
9. San Miguel District
10. Santa Margarita Ranch
11. Templeton Gap District

For more information, please see the following:

Facebook Comments