To be selected for the 2012 Physicians of Excellence honor, applicants were required to meet the following baseline criteria:

➽ Be certified by a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties, a member board of the American Board of Osteopathic Medical Specialties, or an equivalency board recognized by the Medical Board of California or Osteopathic Medical Board of California

➽ Be in good standing with the Medical Board of California or Osteopathic Medical Board of California

➽ Maintain his/her primary practice in Orange County for the last five years

➽ Be in practice within his/her specialty field for the last five years


Applicant nominees also were required to meet at least two of the following four criteria. The Selection Committee determined whether the applicant met the criteria,

and in some instances, discretion was used.


Physician Leadership

➽ Recent (within the past three years) positions as an elected or appointed member of a medical organization including but not limited to: chief of staff, member of the medical executive committee, department chair or vice chair, board of director position for Orange County Medical Assn., the California Medical Assn., the American Medical Assn., the American Board of Medical Specialties, or other medical groups. Excludes full-time paid administrative positions.

➽ Recent (within the past three years) elected/appointed positions as a member of a peer review organization/journal including but not limited to: Medical Board of California, hospital-based peer review committee, or a peer-reviewed journal.

➽ Current (within one year) significant community leadership positions such as

PTA president or district school board member.


Teaching/mentoring Current (within one year) medical school or university faculty appointment and/or involvement in teaching of other physicians, medical students and pre-med students, or other healthcare professionals.

Medical research/scientific advances Currently (within one year) active in peer-reviewed clinical research activities, have unique skills within field of nomination including but not limited to performing or introducing a unique breakthrough medical procedure, development of a unique and important treatment protocol.

Humanitarian service Current (within one year) activities and names of affiliated organizations while serving as a volunteer physician outside your regular practice, not receiving compensation, or philanthropic activities supporting medicine.

Other possible criteria The Selection Committee will consider unique or unusual or human interest contributions or activities not included above, and significant awards and recognitions related to substantial contributions in medicine, healthcare, or on behalf of humanity.


Orange County Medical Association Board of Directors, 2011-12

Joanna Tan, M.D., president

Standiford Helm II, M.D., president-elect

Thomas C. Kockinis, M.D.,


Richard T. Pitts, D.O.,

immediate past president

Christian Lising, M.D.

Rakesh K. Bhola, M.D.

Sudeep Kukreja, M.D.

James E. Pierog, M.D.

Paul B. Yost, M.D.

Santosh K. Mohanty, M.D.

R. Bob Sankaram, M.D.

Abhay Parikh, M.D.

William M. Thompson IV, M.D.

William E. Callahan Jr., M.D.

Darla S. Holland, M.D.

Ramesh Rathod, M.D.

Eric Mervis, M.D.


2012 Physicians of Excellence Selection Committee

Darla S. Holland, M.D., committee chairwoman; chairwoman, Regional Credentials Committee; physician in charge, Lakeview Medical Offices, Department of Family Medicine, Southern California Permanente Medical Group

Dawn Bruner, M.D., president, Orange County Foundation for Medical Care

Richard Chambers,

CEO, CalOptima

Russ Inglish, principal, Inglish Healthcare Consultants

Sudeep Kukreja, M.D., board of directors, Orange County Medical Assn.

Tom Loats, MSW, M.P.A., program director, Behavioral Health Services, St. Joseph Hospital  

Neal Lonky, M.D., M.P.H.,

elected member, Board of Directors Representative, Southern California Permanente Medical Group

Julie Puentes, regional vice president, Hospital Assn.

of Southern California

Donald L. Sharps, M.D., associate medical director, Orange County Health Care Agency, Behavioral Health Services; American Psychiatric Assn. assembly representative, Orange County Psychiatric Society

Aisha Simjee, M.D.,

past president, Orange County Medical Assn.

Joanna Tan, M.D.,

president, Orange County Medical Assn.

Jay Zubrin, M.D., past president, Orange County Medical Assn.

Michele Blair,

executive director/CEO, Orange County Medical Assn.


Members of the OCMA Board of Directors and Physicians of Excellence Selection Committee are not eligible to be selected as Physicians of Excellence.

Facebook Comments