Orange Coast Magazine

Web Exclusives

 

Small-Town Getaways Travel Information

All the info you need to replicate our trips!

Come along for five weekend escapes to nearby places where life just seems simpler, including Ojai, Julian, Avalon, Del Mar, and Montrose. We tell you what to see, where to shop and eat, what’s nearby, even what it costs to feed the main street parking meters—if there are any. For fun facts about each city’s small-town cred, click here.

OJAI

Azu Restaurant and Tapas Bar 457 E. Ojai Ave., 805-640-7987, azuojai.com

Beatrice Wood Center for the Arts 8565 Ojai-Santa Paula Road, 805-646-3381, beatricewood.com

Bonnie Lu’s Country Cafe 328 E. Ojai Ave., 805-646-0207, facebook.com/pages/Bonnie-Lus-Cafe/144914228875160

Knead Baking Co. 469 E. Ojai Ave., 310-770-3282, kneadbakingcompany.com

Lake Casitas Recreation Area 11311 Santa Ana Road, Ventura, 805-649-1122, casitaswater.org

Love Heals Jewelry 260 E. Ojai Ave., 805-640-9260, loveheals.com

The Mob Shop 110 W. Ojai Ave., 805-272-8102, themobshop.com

Ojai Certified Farmers’ Market 300 E. Matilija St., 805-698-5555, ojaicertifiedfarmersmarket.com

Ojai Ice Cream 210 E. Ojai Ave., 805-646-6075

Ojai Music Festival ojaifestival.org

Ojai Storytelling Festival Libbey Bowl, 805-646-8907, ojaistoryfest.org

Ojai Valley Inn & Spa 905 Country Club Road, 855-697-8780, ojairesort.com and spaojai.com

Ojai Village Walking Guide ojaiwalkingmap.com 

Rainbow Bridge Natural Food 211 E. Matilija St., 805-646-4017, rainbowbridgeojai.com

Regalo Extra Virgin Olive Oil Omaggio Farm, 283 Carne Road, 805-703-4438, regaloolive.com

Sea Fresh Seafood 533 E. Ojai Ave., 805-646-7747, seafreshseafood.com

JULIAN

Apple Starr Orchard 1287 Julian Orchards Drive, 760-305-2169, apple-starr.com

Apples and Art Orchards 1052 Julian Orchards Drive, 760-310-6368, applesandartorchards.com

The Birdwatcher 2775 B St., 760-765-1817, thebirdwatcher.net

Calico Ranch Orchard State Route 78 near Calico Ranch Road, 858-586-0392, calicoranch.com

California Wolf Center Christensen-Kenis Road, 760-765-1598, californiawolfcenter.org

Dudley’s Famous Bakery 30218 State Route 78, Santa Ysabel, dudleysbakery.com

Eagle and High Peak Mine Co. end of C Street, 760-765-0036

Julian Apple Days Festival jma.memberlodge.org/appledays 

Julian Brewing Co. 2315 Main St., 760-765-3757, facebook.com/julianbrewing

Julian Cafe & Bakery 2112 Main St., 760-765-2712

Julian Cider Mill 2103 Main St., 760-765-1430, juliancidermillinc.com

Julian Gold Rush Hotel 2032 Main St., 760-734-5854, julianhotel.com

Julian Pie Co. 2225 Main St., 760-765-2449, julianpie.com

Julian Stables State Route 78 southwest of Julian, 760-765-1598, julianactive.com/julian_stables.htm

Julian’s Toy Chest 2116 Main St., 760-765-2262, facebook.com/julianstoychest

Moms Pie House 2119 Main St., 760-765-2472, and 4510 State Route 78, 760-765-2664, momspiesjulian.com

Old Julian Drugstore & Candy Mine 2134 Main St., 760-765-0069

Peacefield Orchard 3803 Wynola Road, 760-765-0530, peacefieldorchard.com

Raven Hill Orchard 1284 Julian Orchards Drive, 760-765-2431

Romano’s Restaurant 2718 B St., 760-765-1003, romanosrestaurant.blogspot.com

San Diego Archeological Center 16666 San Pasqual Valley Road, Escondido, sandiegoarcheology.org

San Diego Zoo Safari Park 15500 San Pasqual Valley Road, Escondido, 760-747-8702, sdzsafaripark.org

San Pasqual Battlefield State Historic Park 15808 San Pasqual Valley Road, Escondido, 760-737-2201, parks.ca.gov

San Pasqual Battlefield Volunteer Association spbva.org

AVALON 

The Avalon Hotel 124 Whittley, 310-510-7070, theavalonhotel.com

Avalon Library 215 Sumner Ave., 310-510-1050, colapublib.org/libs/avalon

Avalon Grille 423 Crescent Ave., 310-510-7494, visitcatalinaisland.com/avalongrille.php

Bluewater Avalon 306 Crescent Ave., 310-510-3474, bluewatergrill.com

Brown’s Bikes 120 yards from the boat dock, 310-510-0986, catalinabiking.com

Cape Canyon Expedition 201 Catalina Ave., 310-510-8687, visitcatalinaisland.com

Catalina Casino 1 Casino Way, visitcatalinaisland.com

Catalina Express 800-618-5533, catalinaexpress.com

Catalina Flyer 800-830-7744, catalinainfo.com/catalina-flyer-boat-information.html

Catalina Island Museum 1 Casino Way, 310-510-2414, catalinamuseum.org

CC Gallagher 523 Crescent Ave., 310-510-1278, ccgallagher.com

Chimes Tower Chimes Tower Road

Descanso Beach Club 1 St. Caherine’s Way, 310-510-7410, visitcatalinaisland.com

The Inn on Mt. Ida Wrigley Road, 310-510-2030, innonmtada.com 

Island Express 1175 Queens Highway, Long Beach, 800-228-2566, islandexpress.com

Luau Larry’s 509 Crescent Ave., 310-510-1919, luaularrys.com

Pancake Cottage 615 Crescent Ave., 4310-510-0726, menu4u.com/thecottage 

Pavilion Hotel 513 Crescent Ave., 310-510-1788, visitcatalinaisland.com

Sea Trek Undersea Adventure Catalina Scuba Luv, 126 Catalina Ave., 310-510-2350, scubaluv.com/guided-sea-trek-tours.html

The Steamer Trunk 121 Sumner Ave., 310-510-2600, thesteamertrunk.com 

DEL MAR

Addison at The Grand Del Mar 5200 Grand Del Mar Way, San Diego, 858-314-1900, addisondelmar.com

Americana Restaurant 1454 Camino del Mar, 858-794-6838, americanarestaurant.com

Amtrak amtrak.com

Bully’s Del Mar (Bully’s North) 1404 Camino del Mar, 858-755-1660, bullysprimerib.com

Cafe Secret 1440 Camino del Mar, 858-792-0821, cafesecret.com

Del Mar Library 1309 Camino del Mar,
 858-755-1666, friendsofdelmarlibrary.org 

Del Mar Thoroughbred Club 2260 Jimmy Durante Blvd., 858-755-1141, dmtc.com

Dinosaur Gallery 1327 Camino del Mar, 858-794-4855

En Fuego Cantina & Grill 1342 Camino del Mar, 858-792-6551, enfuegocantina.com

The Frustrated Cowboy 1444 Camino del Mar, 800-835-8858, frustratedcowboy.com 

The Grand Del Mar 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, 855-314-2030, thegranddelmar.com

Jake’s Del Mar 1660 Coast Blvd., 858-755-2002, jakesdelmar.com

Powerhouse Community Center 1700 block of Ocean Avenue, 858-755-1524, delmar.ca.us/visitors

Seagrove Park 1600 block of Ocean Avenue, 858-259-0502, delmar.ca.us/visitors

Seaside Yogurt 1231 Camino del Mar, 858-720-1168, facebook.com/seasideyogurt

Stratford Court Cafe 1307 Stratford Court, 858-792-7433, stratfordcourtcafe.com 

Torrey Pines State Beach and State Preserve 858-755-2063, parks.ca.gov/?page_id=658 and torreypine.org

MONTROSE

Berolina Bakery 3421 Oceanview Blvd., 818-249-6506, berolinabakery.com

Black Cow Cafe 2219 Honolulu Ave., 818-957-5282, theblackcowcafe.com 

Descanso Gardens 1418 Descanso Drive, La Canada Flintridge, 818-949-7980, descansogarden.org

Faye’s Intimate Apparel 2295 Honolulu Ave., 818-249-3951

The Fat Dog 2265 Honolulu Ave., 818-236-4810, thefatdogla.com 

Grayson’s Tune Town 2415 Honolulu Ave., 818-249-0993, graysonstunetown.com

Java Brew Coffee House 2418 Honolulu Ave., 818-248-1769, javabrewcoffee.com

La Cabanita 3445 N. Verdugo Road, Glendale, 818-957-2711

Langham Huntington, Pasadena 1401 S. Oak Knoll Ave, Pasadena, pasadena.langhamhotels.com 

Montrose Arts & Crafts Festival 2200 to 2400 Honolulu Ave., 818-957-7186, shopmontrose.com/montrose-arts-crafts-festival-2/

Montrose Travel 2349 Honolulu Ave., 818-553-3200, montrosetravel.com

Needle in a Haystack 2262 Honolulu Ave., 818-248-7686, needhay.com

Polkatots Cupcakes 2200 Honolulu Ave., 818-248-8200, polkatotscupcakes.com

Schreiner’s Fine Sausages 3417 Ocean View Blvd., 818-244-4735, schreinersfinesausages.com 

Tom’s Toys 2281 Honolulu Ave., 818-249-2178

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here.

Web Exclusives

The Wine Dudes

Expert Advice from Orange County's GrapeRadio Hosts

Stuff We Love

Updates from Orange Coast's editors on happenings around Orange County! Plus gems from our print magazine throughout the years.
  • Hot Shop: Betting the Farm

    Seal Beach brothers take the family business to new heights

    “There’s not a guy in America who wants to go to the mall,” says John Anderson, left, co-owner, with his brother Mike, of Tankfarm in Seal Beach. Read More
  • Best of 2014: Nutty Brûlée

    No one can resist breaking into the sugary crust of crème brûlée, and this one packs an extra surprise with its abundance of silky-smooth chocolate-hazelnut custard below—thanks to the addition of Nutella. This sinful dessert is incredibly rich and best shared with a friend. $8
    704 E. Balboa Blvd., Newport Beach, 949‑673‑7173, theslidingdoorcafe.com

    Read More
 
 
wine blog
 

stuff we love

Charitable Events Calendar